Department of Chemistry Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

DST – Fund for Improvement in S&T Infrastructure

Brief Outline Department

The Department of Chemistry, IIT, Kharagpur, was started in 1951 by Sir J. C. Ghosh, the first director of the institute. Since then, the department has been imparting undergraduate education and has been engaged in research in various fields in Chemistry. At present there are thirty faculty members and the total number of undergraduate students is about 120 and the number of research scholars is 120.

Teaching & Research Activities

At present the department offers two courses, five year integrated and two year M. Sc. Courses. The faculty members are engaged in research in various advanced fields of contemporary interests, such as, Advanced Materials, Synthetic Organic and Inorganic Chemistry, Catalysis, Organometallics, Biomolecules, Macromolecules, and in various aspects of Theoretical Chemistry using Density Functional Theory, Statistical Mechanics and Computer Simulations. This has resulted in a large number of publications in high impact journals like, J. Am. Chem. Soc.; Angew. Chem.; Chem. Commun,; Chem. Rev.; Chem. Matr.; Inorg. Chem.; J. Org. Chem.; J. Phys. Chem. etc. The department is well equipped with various kinds of sophisticated equipments such as, Bruker Avance – II 400 MHz NMR Spectrometer and Bruker Avance – II 200 MHz NMR Spectrometer, Bruker Apex SMART Single Crystal Diffractometer, Thermal Analyzer, 16-node HPC cluster, etc. The equipments are extensively used by the research scholars and the M.Sc students for their research and project work.

Facilities Created





Bruker Apex SMART Single Crystal Diffractometer

16-Node HPC

Cluster (Make: HP)

For further details contact:

Professor P. K. Chattaraj Head Department of Chemistry Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur 721 302 Tel. No. +91-3222-282252 (o) Fax no. +91-3222-282252

Email ID:.pkc@chem.iitkgp.ernet.in